T Cells

Lymphocytes responsible for Cell-Mediated Immunity. Two types have been identified - cytotoxic (T-Lymphocytes, Cytotoxic) and Helper T-Lymphocytes (T-Lymphocytes, Helper-Inducer). They are formed when Lymphocytes circulate through the Thymus Gland and differentiate to Thymocytes. When exposed to an Antigen, they divide rapidly and produce large numbers of new T Cells sensitized to that Antigen.